What is the IB?


The International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma is an internationally respected and recognised qualification. Success in the IB will ensure access to good universities throughout the world.

IB Diploma

What is special about the IB?

The IB Diploma makes sure that students do not specialise before they go to university. This means that students study six subjects, three at standard level and three at higher level. Students must choose a range of subjects, i.e. the objective of the IB is to encourage breadth as well as depth across the curriculum.

In addition to the six subjects, at the core of the Diploma hexagon are:

  • Theory of Knowledge (TOK)
  • the Extended Essay
  • and every student must take part in a CAS (Creativity, Action and Service) programme which is awarded points and which contributes to the final mark achieved in the Diploma.

How is the IB assessed?

Examinations at the end of the second year are complemented by a progarmme of internal assessment. Each subject, whether higher or standard can contribute up to 7 points to a final points total. The Extended essay and Theory of Knowledge together contribute 3 points so the maximum score possible is 45, while the pass mark is 24 points.